Single parent for the next two weeks

Yesterday I filled up my shopping cart with twice my regular grocery allocation. That’s because Mike is leaving for Germany tomorrow. He will be there for two weeks and there’s no way I can drive  to the supermarket without him holding Gabbie in one hand and the other holding on to the handbrake.

It has been over a year since he last had an out-of-the-country trip like this, because of the worldwide recession or global crisis. I’ve almost forgotten how it is to look after Gabbie for the whole 24 hours.

I hope Gabbie will not look for her daddy in the middle of the night. I hope that when she cries and asks for daddy, a simple  and overused “Daddy is in the office and will be home later” will be enough to calm her down.

I hope that her bike won’t break, and I hope that she won’t ask for “carry” when we go out.

I hope she won’t force open the door when she hears a car parking outside, and cry when she finds out that it’s the car of the neighbor.

I hope she won’t ask for a kite when she sees her playmates playing with theirs. I hope she won’t ask for Avatar to lull her to sleep.

~ by ivymarasigan on May 15, 2010.

One Response to “Single parent for the next two weeks”

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a comment