The Gift

I found a chance to swing by a bookstore today and amid the piles of vampire selections (I need a break), I found The Gift by Cecelia Ahern.

The author’s website says “This is a story about people who, not unlike parcels, hide secrets. They cover themselves in layers until the right person unwraps them and discovers what’s inside. Sometimes you have to be unravelled in order to find out who you really are.”

I haven’t read anything by Cecelia  Ahern (I was so occupied with Dan Brown‘s Angels and Demons, Da Vinci Code, Digital Fortress and Deception Point when I saw PS I Love You in Powerbooks. But The Gift sounds promising, and I can’t wait to flip the first page. I know I should’ve checked some reviews about this book first but what the heck, I will have to find out myself and see how it goes compared with Paulo Coelho, Mitch Albom or Nicholas Sparks.

I was actually torn between The Gift and John Grisham‘s The Summons. I was also eyeing on another Sparks paperback Dear John but it might have to wait til I see The Last Song on DVD.

BTW, I was informed that the paperback of The Lost Symbol will be out July 22. Hubby will be happy about this good news. The hardbound was too much to carry- aside from being literally heavy, it was also too much for our pocket.

Hay, so many books to read, so little budget. Haha.

~ by ivymarasigan on July 8, 2010.

One Response to “The Gift”

  1. Loved this book 🙂 it was hard to put down. Oh, and shameless plugging na ito. I love to read too and most of the time I buy brand new books. After reading, I usually sell them at 50% discount in my online bookstore: http://buybooksforless.multiply.com. Please drop by my site if you have time. I have lots of new books for sale.

Leave a Reply

 
