“Mommy, do you want me to die?”

Yesterday Gabbie and I went to the wet market to buy fresh fish. We were walking when she said she was hungry and she wanted cookies to eat. We stopped by a sari sari store to get a pack of Cream O. While waiting for a tricycle, an obviously hungry and dirty looking teenager went to us and looked at Gabbie’s biscuits while nodding or pleading for something to eat. I was shocked and I moved back a little (scared that he will do something harmful to Gabbie) but after a couple of seconds, I got the biscuits from Gabbie and gave them to the stranger.

On the way to the market, there was a series of “why’s”. I explained to her why we had to do that- give her food to the hungry manong, as she called him. I told her he was hungry and he didn’t have money to buy food. But we, since her daddy is working, have a little money left for some more biscuits and breads that she can eat when she gets hungry. When she didn’t seem convinced, I told her, “if the manong doesn’t eat, he will die. We don’t want him to die, do we?” She said no, but still she asked, “Why?”

Morbid, I know, but then I couldn’t think of the right words to say to make her understand better and… ok, faster.

While waiting for the fish to get done (we have our suki clean the fish everytime we buy), I heard her faint sobs. I asked her why and she said “Mommy, do you want me to die?”

I knew right then what she meant. So I bent down to her eye level and explained to her again why we had to do it. And then I brought her to the nearest bakery to get her favorite pianono bread.

When we were on the way back home I was thinking if I did the right thing. I know I explained to her about sharing the food to the stranger being hungry and all but to her, she was also a hungry kid. So maybe she was thinking why I was more concerned with the other kid and not with her- who also asked me for some food because she was HUNGRY?

How do we explain poverty, hunger and even death to our kids?

Image

~ by ivymarasigan on July 24, 2012.

2 Responses to ““Mommy, do you want me to die?””

  1. Awww. I think you did the right thing ate ivs, though hindi pa naman ako mommy so I wouldn’t know! ;))

  2. oo nga hindi ko din alam na may mga ganiton eksena until i was there in that situation. haha. i learn new things about mommyhood everyday 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
