Three years!

This week is Gabbie’s final exams week in Kinder 2. As I sit here in front of my laptop doing and downloading some reviewers and worksheets, I get a little nostalgic. I just can’t believe it has been three years! From Nursery to Kinder 1 to Kinder 2, I did this for almost everyday and every exam time. It was tiring at times, but every time she came home with her exam results and every time the school ended and she got recognitions, it felt fulfilling.

But this time I feel she’s getting a little burned out with these reviewing, tutoring and all. Probably she also feels my emotions, being eight months preggy and and all, and having Rafa, who’s equally demanding of time and attention, around. At one point she even told me she would just pray to God and think harder during the actual exams so she wouldn’t need to study and review at home, but we both know that it will not be enough. Times like this (and with hormones kicking in) make me want to cry and just let her be, and just let her use whatever stock knowledge she has for the finals exams. But that would not be 100% possible, and effective.

So despite expecting to give birth a few weeks into summer vacation, I’d still want to plan their activities, getaways and other form of relaxation this school break. They might be allowed to do malling once or twice a week, do some art works at home at their own pace and choice, play with their slide, tents and other toys and I might ask their Daddy to get a new inflatable swimming pool for them.

On the next school year, she will be Grade 1 in a big school. Though I had been there before, still, I don’t know what lies ahead. But one thing for sure. I will still be with her in her school activities, in doing her homework, in reviewing for exams, in doing her projects and in pursuing whatever extra school club she will choose.

~ by ivymarasigan on March 5, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
